Brown toned paper

Went out to a store yesterday and picked up a new paper. Its a brown midtoned paper that I think is what cardboard and parcels are made from. My results and opinion are mixed about it. It s my first time using such a dark paper for life drawing so the way I approach it is going to have to change as you basically put only the darks with charcoal then the highlights with some white chalk/pastel and let the paper do the rest with the midtones. I m accustomed  to having to put in midtones with the charcoal on the lighter papers and also I get really into getting messy with the charcoal and smearing it all over the place. This doesnt seem to show such good results esp as when the white pastel and charcoal mix its very unpleasant so I ll have to keep those 2 seperate. Basically on top of being I think very promising and a cool experiment this idea is really tripping me up and forcing me to rethink how I go about the life drawing. A challenge like this can t really be anything but good imo.

This is the most successful one out of the bunch. I figured out that the whites and blacks must be kept separate and also to let the paper do most of the work for me. Its good as instead of spending time smearing around charcoal to put in midtones I can concentrate on the important stuff like her gesture.

I believe I captured her pose reasonably well here although something odd is going on with her upper torso. White and black got mixed though and thats unhappy as it turns into a odd and unpleasant grey.

I think the gesture in this pose was captured but her limbs are off. I do think theres a lot of analyse and learn from this drawing.  Again white and black mixed some 😦 but the midtone of the paper was doing its job on the right leg. I do like the way the white highlights her right (our left) side although its a bit too bright. Because my chamois is dirty with charcoal (also white pastel now as well) I wasn t manipulating the pastel with my chamois later in the session. Getting a white pastel only blending tools I think will help as Ill be able to lift some of the pastel off and make it less bright and sharp.

I hope you enjoy these drawings. Not my best in a lot of ways but its going to change the way I approach tones and basically drawing in general so I m going to plow ahead with this idea till the roll of paper is done. Going to be a while though as I bought 1m x 20m of it as it was only 3.50 for the whole thing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

